News Press Release

Wakulla County is Granted Rural Area of Critical Economic Concern Designation by Executive Order of the Governor

Crawfordville, Florida ““ On Thursday, May 5, 2011 Governor Scott signed Executive Order #11-103 adding Wakulla County to Florida’s Northwest Rural Area of Critical Economic Concern (RACEC) which includes neighboring counties Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Jackson, Holmes, Liberty and Washington, as well as, the area within the City of Freeport also known as “Opportunity Florida”.

Florida‘s RACECs are regions comprised of rural communities that have been adversely affected by severe or chronic economic distress, extraordinary economic events, or natural disasters. The designation provides additional tools for Wakulla County to be proactive in economic development such as greater grant opportunities,  lower grant match requirements, and priority eligibility for certain transportation programs to name a few.  The County began pursuing the designation approximately a year ago as a team effort with the Small County Coalition, local Legislators, and the Governor’s Office.  The designation further solidifies the regional partnership with the coastal counties while simultaneously furthering job creation. More News Release – County Designated a RACEC